I Ching

What the I Ching is and its use as an oracle.

The I Ching is a collection of practical wisdom, pertaining to every conceivable situation. It originates in ancient China and is the oldest Chinese classical text. “I Ching” means “Classic of Changes” or “Book of Changes.” (While mostly the spelling “I Ching” is used, “Yijing” is in fact the official modern spelling.)

HexagramThere are 64 different main kinds of situations in the I Ching. Each one is indicated by a hexagram, which is a symbol made up by 6 lines, each of which can be broken or unbroken.

To obtain advice from the I Ching about one’s current situation, one can consult it as an oracle. To decide which hexagram is related to the situation at hand, a “random” hexagram is obtained by throwing coins (or yarrow sticks, that traditionally were used). The “random” hexagram is supposed to not be random at all, but to coincide with the situation.

There doesn’t seem to be any scientific theory that explains how this can be (although some people think quantum mechanics provides for a possible explanation). However, experience shows that it works in practice. The psychologist C.G. Jung, who studied the I Ching, named this coinciding of seemingly unrelated events “synchronicity.”

Hexagrams and lines (click here to see the meanings)

Hexagrams are sets of six lines, that can be broken _ _ or unbroken ___. The broken lines are “yin,” the unbroken lines “yang.” Something is yin when it is female or dark, earthly, passive etc. and yang when it is male or light, heavenly, active etc.

The 64 hexagrams are indicated by a number, that is universal. All translations and commentaries to the I Ching use the same numbers. They also have a name, that may differ.

Consulting the I Ching (click here to throw the I Ching)

Traditionally the I Ching is consulted by throwing 50 yarrow stalks, but usually a set of three coins is used. The coins are thrown six times, while a question is held in mind. It is also possible to just let the I Ching comment on your current state, when no question is held. (However, the I Ching will only comment on your current situation; it will not predict the future.)

line numbering starting at the bottom of the hexagramThe hexagram is built from the bottom up, so the first line is the bottom one, the sixth line the top one.

To calculate the lines from the coins thrown, values are assigned to the coins’ sides. Tails equals a value of 2, heads a value of 3. The values of the three coins are added to get the total to determine the line. There are four possibilities:

coins total line changing
0 heads + 3 tails 6 yin _ _ changing
1 heads + 2 tails 7 yang ___
2 heads + 1 tails 8 yin _ _
3 heads + 0 tails 9 yang ___ changing

Even totals (6 or 8) give rise to a yin line, odd totals (7 or 9) a yang line.

Throws with all tails or all heads are considered changing lines. A changing line is a line that changes from yin to yang or the other way around. The hexagram that is formed with the changing lines being changed, is the resulting hexagram.


This is how to interpret the reading:

No changing lines
Consider the hexagram text (judgment) of the hexagram.
1 changing line
Consider the line text of the changing line.
2 or 3 changing lines
Consider the line texts and also the hexagram text (judgment) of the resulting hexagram.
4, 5 or 6 changing lines
Consider the hexagram texts (judgments) of the base and resulting hexagrams.
(You could check out the line texts, however they will often be conflicting, and may not clearly relate to the situation.)

Back to Top